Monthly Astrological Insight

Monthly Astrology Transits for December 2017

If we had any doubt what Jupiter in Scorpio is about, the confusion would have been cleared by what we saw last month.  Jupiter is going to continue to be ...

Read More

Learn Astrology

astrology webinar

WANT TO LEARN ASTROLOGY? SIGN UP for real time webinars on basic to advanced classes. Click here for info.

Chart Reading

manda selva

If you want a reading on career path, chart compatibity, prediction, etc., click here for more details.

  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Vedic Astrology
  4. /
  5. Vedic Astrology – Introduction

Vedic Astrology – Introduction

The beginning of Astrology in India is rooted in ancient times when man started correlating his activities with planetary movements. And thus gradually the science of predictive astrology was born. In ancient times, Astrology was practiced in India both by saints and kings alike. Sages like Bhrighu, Narada and Parashara and kings like Kalyanverma have written big treatises on the subject.

As in Western astrology, in Vedic Astrology too, the zodiac is divided into 12 divisions of 30 degrees each and these are known as the signs of the zodiac. Given below are the names of the signs of the zodiac in Western Astrology and the corresponding names in Vedic Astrology:-

1. Aries —— Mesh

2. Taurus —–Vrishabha

3. Gemini —–Mithun

4. Cancer —– Kark

5. Leo ——— Singh

6. Virgo —– Kanya

7. Libra—— Tula

8. Scorpio — Vrischik

9. Sagittarius — Dhanu

10. Capricorn – Makar

11. Aquarius — Kumbh

12. Pisces ——Meen

The Precession of Equinox or The Ayanamsha: Difference in Starting Points between Western and Vedic Astrology

In western Astrology, the first point of Aries is defined as the point in the zodiac where the Sun is located on 21st March, that is the day of the vernal equinox. The western system of the zodiac is also called the Tropical zodiac. However, according to the principles of Vedic Astrology, the day of the vernal equinox is not fixed or constant. It is said to recede by about 1 degree in 72 years. Instead Vedic Astrology follows the system of what is known as the Sidereal Zodiac, where the zodiac starts from a fixed star or constellation called ‘Ashwini’. The two zodiacs had last coincided on the vernal equinox day of the year AD 285. As mentioned above, since the starting point in the Tropical Zodiac is always receding,the distance between the two zodiacs has increased to about 24 degrees over the years.This phenomenon is called the precession of equinoxes or Ayanamsha. As we all know the Sun moves at the rate of 1 degree a day. So, although in the Tropical System the Sun entered Aries on 21st March, in Sidereal System sun Entered Aries 24 days after that, which is on 14th April and this is due to the difference in the Ayanmsha of 24 degrees, 2 minutes and 21 seconds. So if the ascendant in Western Astrology is 17 degrees Virgo, the ascendant in Vedic astrology will be 23 degrees of Leo. This is one of the main difference between the Tropical and Sidereal System

Given Below are the corresponding Vedic names of planets

Name of the Planets and its corresponding Vedic Name          
1.  Sun – Surya
2. Moon – Chandra
3. Mars – Mangal
4. Mercury – Buddha
5. Jupiter – Brihaspati or Guru
6. Venus – Shukra
7. Saturn – Shani
8. North Node – Raahu
9. South Node – Ketu

Indian astrology does not consider any other heavenly bodies, like Uranus, Neptune, Pluto or other asteroids for the purpose of making predictions.

The North Node (Rahu) and South Node (Ketu): Out of the nine heavenly bodies mentioned above,the first seven,that is from Sun to Saturn have physical or celestial bodies. The last two,that is Raahu and Ketu (The North node and South Node) have no physical or celestial bodies.These are just the two points in the zodiac where the two paths, one of the Moon revolving around the earth and the other of the Earth revolving around the Sun intersect one another.Where the Moon in its orbit around the earth cuts the ecliptic and goes to the north of it,the point is called the North Node or Raahu and the corresponding position where the Moon cuts the ecliptic and goes South of it is called the South Node or Ketu.The two nodes are thus exactly 180 degrees from each other.According to Indian Astrology these points assume importance in predictions for they represent the area where the horoscope of a particular individual comes under eclipse.

3 COMMENTS on “Vedic Astrology – Introduction

  1. Simply, Vedic Astrology is based on the ancient scriptural texts of India called the Vedas. It’s beginning is lost in the mists of time.

  2. Priya,what you say is quite true.However,let me tell you that whatever little of Vedic astrology is known is enough to give some good predictions.For example,let me tell you my own case.I have worked in the civil services in India for 39 years from 1967 to 2006.It was in 1985 that i got into a never ending kind of an ego clash with a super boss.One thing led to another and we became bitter enemies.As a result he used all his power to spoil my career.Finally the question before me was whether i will get my next promotion or not and if so when.I am sure you will agree with me that it is not an easy question to answer by any system of numerology/astrology or any other occult science.However,a computer programme on Vedic astrology answered this question correctly.This computer programme on Vedic Astrology had also predicted material success/gain for me during the present period.And let me tell you that the gains i rceived during this year were much more than at any other time in my life before,inspite of my advancing years.Lastly,let me tell you that i have no personal interest in the computer programme and do not even know the name of the person who has made it.

  3. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it.I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.maybe old news, but it’s new to me.

Leave a Comment

Captcha *